Help me setting up framework for test automation (Android, Appium, py)

So I’m pretty new in this automation world. As a sw tester I been testing apps on multiple platforms, but when it comes to automation, I decided to start with mobile devices first, starting with Android. I wrote several simple test cases in python and I used Appium and Androids Studio to run them. I wrote several separate test cases and ran them manually and they work fine. So far so good, but now I’m stuck on this step. My plan for future steps is to add the following:

• add option to record/screenshot failed tests instead of failing test only
  • catch exception, add logging
  • organize tests into group or something, add some kind of structure, framework
  • add some kind of dashboard, graphs, charts

I’d appreciate any kind of advice or comment on how to proceed with my next steps. Especially about organizing tests and create some kind of framework where tests should be run easier and more transparently then manually running them one after another together with logging and collecting success rate results.

1 Like

The appium forums are a great start place for a lot of the how-to parts of it https://discuss.appium.io/. For the python specific implementation bits you need to use your test engine, are you using pytest? I use a fork of pytest, so may differ what we see.

1. I am inspecting a internal variable in the test runner class that contains the verdict, in the tearDown() method, the startup and teardown fixture names may differ for you test engine, but basic ally I look at that verdict and if self.result == “FAIL”: I branch my teardown to do things like grabbing a few extra logs. I always grab a screenshot, screenshots and any smaller logs are good to have even for passing test cases.