How to gain experience when nobody wants to hire Juniors?

I am currently working as a manual qa but my career is at a dead end in the company I work for. I have learned Java, Selenium, TestNG, JUnit, Cucumber, Git and others all by myself. I have small projects in GitHub to prove I have some basic knowledge for junior automation positions. I also have an ISTQB FL certificate.

There are too few job offers for junior automation roles. How to gain experience when nobody wants to hire juniors?

6 Likes

The ISTQB foundation certificate alone is a great start even if it is just a piece of paper. Automation QA engineers are in short supply, it takes months to fill positions sometimes. I can only guess you want to get your CV reviewed by someone, tweak it and start applying for jobs that will give you that experience. You cannot really study your way into these jobs, you have to network a lot too. Getting your CV out there is the start.

4 Likes

Iโ€™ve noticed more so over the last decade or so that team models have changed significantly to smaller teams and this impacts both developers and testers.

Right now for example I am solo tester on three different teams and six or so products, being solo makes me test lead on those projects and that is a tough entry point for juniors, similarly a lot of products are being built by two or three developers and adding juniors in there is again a challenge.

On top of that remote work can make it even harder for juniors to fit in, most of my productive learning was done pairing with people I learned from.

It is though a model I really like but I can see why its challenging for juniors to get on board.

There are though still a lot of larger product based companies with larger teams that still have long onboard learning plans, sometimes even if these are not the best environments to work in they can give more opportunities for those entering the field. Look for companies that are actively advertising for juniors to get started.