Memory leak and utilisation testing

Anyone got any tips for testing memory leak and utilisation on a web app? We have a suspicion one of our projects is not as efficient as it could be but I have no experience with testing any of this stuff

1 Like

Hi … I am definitely no expert on this particular topic. Assuming its a server side application, do you have access to the servers hosting the application. Could you use the inbuilt OS tools for tracking processes and memory usage as a first step to check what it’s actually using? This would do your basic does it leak checks. After that I am afraid for web applications I’d have to hand over to someone more akin to testing memory leaks on web based stuff.

There is a reasonably interesting article here that might help.

This is also worth a read…https://developers.google.com/web/tools/chrome-devtools/memory-problems/

3 Likes

This is more than I know at the mo, so thanks! Will do some reading :slight_smile:

There are tools for monitoring things like memory usage for applications. On Windows there is a tool called PerfMon built into the operating system. On Windows 10,

• Right click on the bar at the bottom of the screen
  • Select Task Manager
  • At the bottom of the window select More Details
  • Go to the Performance tab
  • At the bottom of this tab select Open Resource Monitor

Here you can select which application you want to monitor and you should be able to select what sort of things you want to monitor (memory, CPU usage, network, etc.).

If you want to automate this, you can run PerfMon as a standalone application. To run it,

• Right click on the Start Menu
  • Select Run
  • Enter perfmon.msc