.Net Testing Tools/Strategies

:wave:
Hello, I made a previous post about starting an automation architect role in another board. However I wanted to post here to get some thoughts on testing in a .net environment.

I don’t know everything yet (haven’t started the job) however I do know they use .Net/C# in a “microservice” architecture type environment.

I’ve done some research (im new to C#/.Net, which I was upfront about) just to get an idea of what is out there. I will eventually be training manual testers as well, so im trying to also think of things that will be “friendly” to newcomers.

for UI automation I am used to Cypress, but from what i’ve seen Playwright is really honestly a little bit better from reading around. It does look interesting, although I do not like the .Net/C# version of it tbh I could always use it with typescript (which is what I prefer, and honestly probably easier for manual testers).

However on the API/Integration testing side it’s a little more confusing. Honestly I find microsoft documentation lacking a wee bit on the explanation of specific classes used in Integration testing (WebApplicationFactory/HttpCLient/etc…). Also one of the most popular API testing frameworks (RestSharp) seems to be not recommended anymore.

Does anyone have advice on what the latest/best tools people are using right now in .Net/C# Environment.
Thanks!

1 Like

I have been testing in the C# dotnet world for the last 5 years now.

Most of the apps that I have tested are built as well as tested using c#.

The desktop apps that I test are built using WPF.

I compiled resources for testing desktop apps with tools, strategies and ideas here: Desktop App Testing – All Resources Compiled - Testing Titbits | Rahul Parwal

Hope this helps you :slight_smile:

I use HttpClient for API tests, with Specflow for writing the tests BDD-style, and NUnit as the testing framework. It’s actually quite easy to use. The Gherkin part is also easy for manual testers as well.