New to automation - use a framework from the get go?

Hi All,

I currently following a tutorial on Selenium WebDriver in C# using Visual Studio Community. The tutorial explains the clear benefit to having a test framework, but it does add a layer of complexity when I am new to C# and trying to learn the fundamentals.

Does anybody have any thoughts on the best way to learn - framework from the get go or start jumping in and creating tests then implementing a framework later on?

Interested to hear your thoughts :slight_smile:

sad_muso

It sounds like you’re trying to learn a new language and a new framework at the same time. I’d personally take the hit and learn the language to a decent degree (you’ll never know or need to know everything) and then implement on the framework. Otherwise I’d just end up re-implementing tests at a later date, which would probably hack me off.

Although having a framework is not a necessary step to implementing Automation it is probably best advised to have a framework in mind when looking to start with Automation.

If you just add your test scripts and let them run then you may find that further down the line it will be harder to maintain the tests and you aren’t able to scale your efforts.

If you have a testing framework in mind from the start and look to implement within this framework then it would be easier to scale the tests as the product grows and also maintain the tests as new functionality is added to the product.

As you say you are new to C# it might be best getting a good understanding of that first before implementing tests. But when it comes to the automation then try to use a framework. This page gives a bit of understanding and some pro and cons of the different types - http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/test-automation-frameworks-selenium-tutorial-20/

Are you talking about framework or design pattern?