QA Engineer/Software Testing Learning Path for First Job

Is this a good plan to increase my odds at starting a new career as a Software Tester in July 2024? Anything I should tweak to make this better? Should I take things out or add something. Is this enough time for each topic area? My background is: 8 years as a telecommunications engineer (satellite, cisco networking, traditional telephone switch, ISDN/ADSL/ATM), 4 years as IA/Cybersecurity IT manager, 8 years years as IT Program Manager/Project Manager.

• #0: Manual Testing, Fundamentals (4 weeks)
    • Udemy course Complete Software Testing bootcamp
  • #1: Github (2 weeks) Udemy Course
  • #2: Docker & Kubernetes (2 weeks) Udemy Course
  • #3: Python (4 weeks) Udemy Course, 2x Projects, publish to Portfolio
    • Optional: obtain entry-level Python cert
  • #4: Jira (2 weeks)
    • Udemy Course, 2x Projects
  • #5: SQL…(4 weeks)
    • Udemy Course (SQL for begin), 2x Projects
  • #6: Selenium (4 weeks)
    • Udemy Course, 2x Projects
  • #7: Linux (8 weeks)
    • Udemy Course
    • Optional: obtain entry-level Linux cert
  • #8: Do testing challenges (4 weeks)
      • 10x
  • #9: Perform QA Testing with documentation on open source projects (16 weeks)
      • 5x
1 Like

I admire you take initiative and making a plan.

I would do BBST foundations as well and move # 8 and 9 earlier. (After or before #1).

I assume you want to be appealing as an employee ASAP and not necessarily have to finish all this? If so, also move kubernetes to the end

Edit: I would also skip Linux and replace that with learning API testing and/or cypress or playwright

3 Likes

Thanks a million for the feedback. I have a steady good paying job right now so I have 1.5 years to learn and practice as much as possible before I start doing interviews. Based on @deament feedback, I have reworked my plan. I was planning on finishing all of this in 1.5 years before applying/interviews? Should I start applying at an earlier step?