Software development training to hone automation skills

Hi everyone,

I recently started my Software Testing apprenticeship and am currently doing a 3-month bootcamp style training with the Software Developer apprentices on C# (not introduced to Testing until after bootcamp). As my time learning code is limited, I’d like to focus on writing a basic-intermediate program that would benefit me greatly when it comes to writing code for automation testing in the future.

I’m not too sure what automation tests would require yet as I’m completely new to it, so any ideas, advice or suggestions would be great, thanks.

2 Likes
  • picture comparison with ImageMagick. Especial with thresholds etc.
    • maybe also creating our own pictures (for the comparison) ?
  • getting data from a data base to your file system and compare it to each other (or to files)
  • Cryptpad Slides: create test data to test any text formatting pair-wise (e.g. italic+normal, italic+bold etc.). The test data should be the format of the markdown so you can copy it right into the input field.
  • creating html documents by code from data. I use this often as report.
1 Like

As you are using C# you could look at SpecFlow. The basic template suggests tests for a calculator.

I am using it to test REST endpoints in front of a SQL database.

1 Like

I’d consider coding things: