Step by step to Testing an application

Hey there! I am new to testing and am trying to get a job in the area, I took several courses already but I wanted to talk to someone who already does it to get an idea of what to expect. So my main question would be, can you give me a step by step of what you usually do when working in testing? Mostly interested in functional manual testing, but any info is welcome, would also like to know if you have any other general advices or good practices, sorry if I’m asking for too much but I really want to learn and am passionate about this step in my career!

6 Likes

Hi Andre
Welcome to the most awesome Software Testing community on the planet.

The short answer: merely think like a user.
The longer answer: think like a user who is time poor
The deeper answer: Testing software cannot be taught, it takes time. Eventually you become so observant that bugs are just unable to hide from your mere gaze. At this point your life becomes painful, you are a bug magnet and you find bugs in everyday life every weekend. This will take 10-20 years thankfully.

3 Likes

Thank you for your insights! I yearn for that pain, like one yearns to go to the beach expecting not to get sunburnt, but in the end it’s worth it, haha, thanks again!

2 Likes

Hi @qaleao ,

Welcome to the community. :wave:t2:

And thanks for asking here. I’m hopeful many folks will reply and share their experiences.

I mention this article to folks who are new to testing: 30 Things Every New Software Tester Should Learn | Ministry of Testing

It provides all sorts of useful info to spark ideas and to get a sense of what someone might do as a testing professional.

Please do keep the questions coming as and when they arise. It’s great that you’ve started wide by asking here. Feel free to start a new topic with a specific question too as and when they arise for you.

My general advice when starting out:

1. Connect with a community (like this one) and ask specific questions