What changes to your CV/Resume have helped you?

@leigh.rathbone shares a whole bunch of tips to help improve your CV/Resume – available in this document.

I have been looking at CVs, and interviewing people, for the best part of 25 years now. I have gained some knowledge along the way as to what I like to see on a CV, what I like to see in an interview. I am no expert, but I thought it time to share my experience and thoughts.

Some points that jump out:

• Sometimes a CV/Resume can be the only mechanism to get an interview
  • Get to the point immediately as a hiring manager may be looking at many CVs – what Leigh refers to as “the right hooks”
  • Feedback is essential. Get it in front of many people from various places in their careers/roles.

What changes to your CV/Resume have helped you? What updates/tweaks made a positive difference in your job search? What advice can you share to help someone who is looking for a new job right now?

3 Likes

TLDR: create as many ‘at a glance’ sections as you can. You want the detail in the main section but for someone reading a pile of CVs, having a quick scan and making it easy for them to see your best bits will increase your chances of being noticed. You want to hook them in to get them to read the rest so make sure you pull out the really great bits!

Personal profile: at the top of my CV before my work experience I have a small statement of who I am, what’s important to me as a quality person, what my motivation is and why I’m interested in working in the quality space.

Carving out a column on the left about a third of the width of the page to highlight Skills & Experience, Achievements and Training courses I’ve done. These are short bullet point lists.
At a glance someone can see what I’m proud of in terms of my skills e.g. a particular language or for me as a coach, facilitation, process improvement. These are short bullet points, one or two words.