What training should I pursue to advance my QA career?

Hey folks!

Here is my question to the MoT community: What training would you recommend for advancing this career?

Background:

I’m 1.5 years into working in QA for a company I love. Today the work is 100% manual testing of software and high-level HW testing, so the bulk of the work is software. My background is technical but that’s from on the job experience. Because I test HW I always have to be around it, but I want to advance into a line of work that is easily mobile (i.e. The laptop is the office) for personal reasons; the employer is 100% supportive of this, and they are growing fast so there is room for this to happen.

Related / relevant:
In recent performance feedback my manager urged me: pursue additional training to advance your skillset, with a focus on software testing. My company does have automation engineers and a project in my domain needs someone to create a test plan and could be tested via automation, so I could run with that project 100%.

Tried already:
I’ve completed a few courses on LinkedIn Learning in QA and have some programming experience with Python, unit testing, and Robot Framework, but what I am lacking / looking for is the “tie it all together” training, like a project-based “learn through a series of escalating projects” training. There is some budget as well, up to $4000 or so, from the employer for this, so even if this training was an ongoing instructor-led program that is possible.

What do you recommend?
Please, and thank you!

3 Likes

Hello @infohiking from experience I can say there is no one recipe to advance in your carrer. It depends a lot on what you want and on what projects the company has. I know people that are experts in Web automation but have never done embedded testing and are on a junior level in terms of security testing.

But … I do want to try and help you a bit with my answer.

You can try the following