What's your preferred code language for scripting?

Following on from this thread on what testers use script for, Iā€™m curious as to what languages people use to script, and how they come to choosing them.

3 Likes

My preferred language is Python :snake:, mainly because of its versatility.
There is even an adage for it: ā€œPython is the second-best language for everythingā€

4 Likes

My preferred code language for scripting is Python :wink:

4 Likes

My preferred code language for scripting is JavaScript

3 Likes

.Net/c#

A number of reasons:
Business - Company is an MS Gold partner, development code is in, sql server based applications, large legacy Regression test code based in .Net/c#

Personal:
I canā€™t really speak on comparing .Net/c# with other frameworks and languages, but I have some experience with Java and to a lesser degree python, and I find .Net/c# offers better support and packages for automation tests. But I am sure advocates of other languages would say similar.

Working with the same Frameworks and code as Dev Engineers does help in enhance the code base as they carry out my PRs. This also allows for collaboration with Unit Tests they write.

I would say ensuring that your code meets the same standards as production code(as far as is practical and makes sense), than the actual code used.
Writing in the same code as Dev Engineers will ensure the code follows correct patterns & principles, as well as your companies guidelines and best practices for code.

We donā€™t write Production code, but if your Quality relies on automated tests, then what we do produce is just as important.

Happy Thursday all :smiley:

3 Likes

Iā€™m not sure I have a favourite, I guess C++ is the most familiar as Iā€™ve had more years with C++ than any other.