Bug Bounties - what are your experiences?

Has anyone here participated in a bug bounty? What’s it like?

I ran across this, which seems interesting if it’s legit. Maybe I should just try it!

1 Like

Have not participated in a bug bounty, but done test fests where we have tested someone else’s product. Did not get paid tho. :frowning: But that was very fun and educational.

This looks like crowd testing and it is kinda interesting that they clearly define how much it is worth to them to find a bug, or in this case a vulnerability specific. Will be interesting to hear if you join and what your experiences were.

1 Like

I have and still am.
(I also work as a consultant for a bug bounty platform - intigriti at the moment :slight_smile:)

Example of well known platforms:

Long story short: it takes time & effort.

The 20.000 payment is ‘nothing’ compared to other companies. If you like hardware hacking (@conrad.braam ) you could try intigrit’s new Intel program and scoop up bounties up to 300.000$

Don’t expect to find bugs in the first week. Don’t expect to get money on your first bugs.
My first security bugs came about 3 weeks after I was on a program. Which were Duplicates (= no money) There are people doing this full-time and spend about 60-80 hours a week into this, so most of the findings at the beginning will be duplicates. Don’t get me wrong but finding a duplicate means you can actually do it! I’m not trying to scare you or anything, just letting you know my experience and telling you it’s going to be a rough start :smiley: )

How it works behind the scenes: A company opens up a Program (private) and invites 10-20 top hackers of the platform, they scoop up all of the easy & decent bugs and get paid. After a long while the program becomes public (not always) and you can try to find some other bugs. It requires a lot of effort, especially in the beginning.