Former veterinarian, now aspiring tester!

Hi everyone!

My name is Aline, I’m from Ghent, Belgium and I’ve recently made a big career switch into IT.

I started off with a 7 months web development bootcamp which I am currently still following.
However, right now, my main focus is to start my career as a junior tester.
I’ve been roaming the internet for valuable online resources, Mot has been a huge help so far!
Besides Mot, I’m familiar with tau, codecademy, treehouse, ait, …

If any of you has some advice on resources suited for an absolute beginner, and which technologies I should start learning (relevant for 2020 and the near future), I would be super thankful to hear them.

I hope everyone has a nice day!

kind regards,
Aline

4 Likes

Yea Belgium! * FistBump *

Welcome to MoT!

What always helps is meetups to share your thoughts and absord knowledge from others.
There’s a meetup group in Gent called ‘BREWT’ and we are going to do the first MoT Meetup in Belgium in Leuven => https://www.meetup.com/Ministry-of-Testing-Leuven/events/268973152/ ! Always welcome at both :wink:

Totally depends on what you wish to learn about testing. Are you getting into test automation or manual testing?
EDIT:

If you want to learn some code and get into test automation. Youtube & Google is the key factor of IT.
There are so many courses of different frameworks & tools it’s insane. Try to see what your need is on your project and go from there on. If your project demands API testing, you focus on learning that first. If you catch my drift? :slight_smile:

Kind regards
Kristof

1 Like

Hey Kristof, thank you! :blush:

I went to the last BREWT meetup in Ghent and I plan on attending many more.
I’m also going to testbash in Brighton!

About your question on what I wish to learn, being a complete rookie, I only recently learned that automation testing and test automation aren’t exactly the same thing :sweat_smile: