Identifying risks - Whiteboard notes

(Mark) #1

Thanks to everyone who came to last nights session on Identifying risks. There were lots of good questions and debates as well as some fantastic reports from the groups after the exercise. I’ve taken the ‘What are risks’ mind maps we created in our group discussion and added them below

Group exercise:

So what next? I encourage anyone reading this to try out this exercise:

1. Pick a site you’re interested in
  2. Spend 5 minutes identifying different risks that could affect the site
  3. Spend another 5 thinking of testing activities you could carry out to mitigate those risks
  4. Share your findings, tell us what was easy, what was hard and what tools you might have used to help you

(Rufus) #3

Hi Guys, Please let me know if you have any feedback as I’m still learning.

Target application - www.next.co.uk

This is not a comprehensive list of potential risks, Below I have jotted down barely a few things that could go wrong in an e-commerce web application of this category.

1. During checkout a lot of personal information is captured to make life fast and easy for returning customers. While this improves customer experience. It also leaves us with the need to look at security risks more seriously. Security Testing has to be performed to look at Applications security from different perspective.

2. How easy it is for a user to accomplish tasks matters. When customers have great user experience they are more likely to return. Also improving accessibility of the website helps increase the target audience. Usability and Accessibility Testing may sound simple, However they help reduce the risk of loosing sales.