Learning API Testing. Whats the best way?

Hello all

Ive used Postman tool in the past a few years ago. And it looks like its changed a bit with the option of using a web version now. But you can still download the tool on a PC as well.
I remember there was good online resources built-in within Postman itself. I got a few options Iam looking at but, is the internal tutorial resources for Postman a good start? I have zero experience in using any API tool.

My second step is to look at some API open sources projects and get some hands on experience.

Does this sound like a good plan?

3 Likes

I’m assuming that you’re learning more about API testing for self development. Even if you have more specific goals in mind, your starting approach seems solid to me. Starting being the best plan in my opinion.

I’m a fan of tools like postman that make it easier to get going without too much prerequisites. Skimming through the Postman Docs, they look like a solid starting point.

When you get the basics, I think its worth exploring more complicated topics e.g. authentication, using programming languages, etc.

There’s lots of stuff online. The restful booker platform is one thats used alot. Related topic that has lots of other useful advice and links.

1 Like

Start here

Amber Race’s course on Test Automation U titled “Exploring Service APIs through Test Automation” is one of the best places to start with API testing anywhere on the web. Bonus, it’s free.

You can find it here:

While it uses Postman, it’s the concepts she introduces and the way she describes things from an API Testing point of view that is wroth it’s weight in gold, regardless of what tool you end up using.

Scripted API Test Automation (CI/CD)

When you are ready to move to automation of API testing beyond manual testing with Postman, depending on your programming knowledge you have some great choices:

Mocking Rest APIs for Testing