Learning Postman - Where to start? Ideas welcomed!

Hello!

I’ve been running through a few videos on YouTube on learning Postman, but I feel that the structure of some of these videos are either far too detailed, or not detailed enough and more generic around API testing rather than using Postman in a pragmatic way.

Because I’m still learning, I sometimes have difficulty grasping abstract concepts, and so having a course with working examples that I can progress through is my preferred way of learning at the moment.

I’ve had a search on MoT for something specific to Postman, but it appears that those courses have been archived and are now inaccessible?

Does anyone have a good resource for this, or a guide of where they started their learning journey?

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Hey ,

A nice resource is Postman Beginner's Course - API Testing - YouTube

Or if that is too much to start with I believe Valentin has also videos on his channel.

I like his style, maybe it is ok for you as well Postman API tutorial for beginners - YouTube

If you want more than just Postman try the 30 Days of API testing here on the Ministry

5 Likes

Hi,

There is a free course on Test automation University:

4 Likes

Thank you both for those brilliant suggestions! Valentin looks fantastic, I’ll be watching quite a lot of his videos :slight_smile: It looks like a perfect blend of both theory and hands on practical learning!

1 Like

I just started Postman using youtube video’s and I’ve setup my own project with my own assignment.

If you want some working examples; I’ve made an exercise myself that I give students after finishing a training as “homework”:

Imagine you’re a secretary of a Pet-Clinic. A client is calling and she wants to make an appointment.
Her Dragonfly is in need of surgery.

• Create a new pet owner.
  • Add a new pet to that owner.
  • The pet is a dragonfly.
  • You can name the pet however you like.