Looking to move towards Security Testing

Hello All,

I am an Automation Test Engineer from the UK. I have an ISTQB Foudation Certification. I would like to learn more about Security Testing. Apart from ISTQB Advance Security Tester Certification, is there any other certification or courses there including Cyber Security? Kindly advice

Thanks,
Krithi

2 Likes

Hi @kirthig

Welcome to MoT! Security is a very broad spectrum so what kind of security are you looking into?
ISTQB Security is defo not going to cut it.

If you want to start out in security you can do online test labs to practice skills such as:

They got learning paths to develop your skills and are a very good beginning.
After you’ve done those you can probably move towards HackTheBox

OWASP is a great source of information about security also. Mobile, API, WEB you name it.

If you wish to practice your skills on real life targets, there is this thing called " Bug Bounty "
Online platforms where you can hack real companies and if you’ve found a vulnerability, you’ll get paid for it. Some examples:

Make sure to read the in and out of scope! :slight_smile:

Certifications in IT Security are kind of “meh” depending on the certification.
You have the EC-Council certifications but people often laugh at it “CEH” → Certified Ethical Hacker"

People tend to name themselves “Uncertified Ethical Hacker” as a joke towards CEH, because it doesn’t really add any value.

What does add value if you are looking to work as a pentester is OSCP and some others from OFFSEC:

These are super hard 24-48 hour exams. But they are really good!

If you now tell me you want to do security testing on hardware then I wrote all of this for nothing :joy: Nah but I don’t do anything hardware related myself so I can’t really give advise on this.
Neither social engineering etc.