Not learning and looking to move

Hi all, I’ve been working in QA for almost 3 years now. In my current position I do manual testing and mobile automation testing. I like my co-workers for the most part and feel comfortable here, but I don’t feel like I’m learning. My goal is to become solely an automation engineer or SDET but there is no one at my job who can help me with this journey. My company knows that QA is bit neglected and promised to improve but I haven’t seen it yet. I don’t think they will anytime soon. Even my automation tests are lacking because our app wasn’t built with testing in mind and it will take a while before it is. So my question is do you think this would be a good time to move on? I’ve had a few recruiters contact me because of my automation skills and am tempted to move on, but I’m a little apprehensive because of the pandemic and because I’m currently the lone tester. I don’t want to burn any bridges.

5 Likes

“do you think this would be a good time to move on?” is highly contextual. Assuming your job is your main/only income source, any change is as personal as it gets.

Some points:

“QA for almost 3 years now”

On the same company? Most people tend to stay 2-5 years, with occasional changes between 1-2 years and more rare cases < 1 year or more than 5. So, 3 years is a normal time to change jobs.

“neglected and promised to improve but I haven’t seen it yet”

if these promises / expectations came from one person only (your manager possibly), there is a great possibility they were onions with many different layers. They include business priorities, people under and above your manager prioririties/situations. Things are always complicated; and the bigger, the more complicated.