Re: Resume Job Experience, can past non-IT roles hurt?

Here is my dilemma, I have 25 years work experience. The first 15 years are in an Account Management type roll, so more sales oriented and nothing to do with tech. The last 10 years are in Software QA roles.

Should my resume show both of these in detail if I am applying to QA roles? I have been given mixed opinions for various reasons. Wanting to hear more input on this topic.
I am also debating whether to break up my QA roles into my two titles that I held. Software QA (7 years) and Senior Software QA (2.5 years) at the same company.

I also have many other resume related questions (first time drawing one up in 25 years) so if any of you are expert resume writers I am all ears!

2 Likes

YES! Domain expertise always matters. You never know when that will tip the scales in your favor. Specifically “Sales tech” is a growing thing. Look up some jobs like “Sales Engineer” and see what I mean.

But I would suggest maybe summarizing that section of the resume a bit more. Like grouping those AM roles and experiences into a single entry that notes accomplishments during those various tenures.

3 Likes

I think i know what you mean, but what if the Account Management role is not tech related?

1 Like

You know the role of an account manager and what they do. Leaving that experience off the resume eliminates any opportunity for a hiring manager to see that and say “Heeeyyyyy. We need a QA person who also knows account management…”

1 Like

Gotcha, although I wonder how rare that scenario may be?

But good point.

My upfront statement is “there are many non-traditional paths to a career in software testing.” You are another one of those candidates where that statement applies.