🎤 Tell me about your triaging process

Hi there, I’m a product designer at a company called Global App Testing. I’m doing some research to better understand folks triaging processes. Do you often need to triage long lists of issues/bugs reported by a third party or someone other than yourself? How do you approach this process?

• What tool do you use for triaging?
  • What is the first thing you do/look for?
  • What do you do if you identify several issues that have the the same root cause?
  • What are the main pain points you experience during the triaging process?
  • If you had a magic wand, how would you make the triaging process better?

Any responses much appreciated! :bowing_woman::pray:

1 Like

I used to triage new tickets daily in one of my previous roles, a few of us would go over issues reported by the support teams, and we would take a brief look into the issues and check if it is an already known issue, a user error, lacking info (and return it to the reporter for more details) or if it’s valid to assign it to an appropriate team.

We didn’t use anything fancy just an assortment of custom labels in Jira to categorize triaged issues. If tickets were similar or had the same root cause we would like them together using different relationships (caused by, causes, related to, etc.) - these can be customized to suit your needs too.

The biggest issue was little respect for the agreed-upon process by the support folks - who were a part of an external company. Everyone agreed what is the minimum info needed on the ticket - such as clear steps to reproduce, screenshots, or recordings when applicable. And to be honest it was pretty frustrating returning tickets over and over again for the same reasons.

For the magic wand part, I’d use it to cast spells that would result in people following the process they agreed to, to increase the domain knowledge of users, and summon more tech-savvy subject matter experts to the triage meeting! :smiley:

4 Likes