First steps into the testing profession

Hello everyone I am Magnus. I started learning Python some moths ago and found that testing is fascinating. I have started doing some exploratory testing on uTest just to get a taste of testing in the real world. Crowdsourced testing seems to me a low threshold entry into the profession, but the tradeoff is that the experience is quite limited, as it is effectively bughunting and not much more.

Right now I am looking into learning pytest and selenium to build a basic testing portfolio. (I have plenty more questions on that topic but I will ask those in a different thread.). I will probably ask a lot of question on this forum, and with experience maybe answer some questions too one day. Glad to be here. Cheers!

3 Likes

Welcome @rydberg :wave: looking forward to seeing your questions, I hope to start learning Python myself soon :slight_smile:

Perhaps you coul also join the Crowd Source Testing discussion with your own experiences to get started

1 Like

Thanks @heather_reid for the welcome and the link to the crowd source tester discussion. I will have a look there.

If you are about to learn Python I definitely recommend The Modern Python 3 Bootcamp. This course has straightforward explanations from the trainer. And you will also find plenty code challenges and quizzes from beginning to end to keep you focused. I also recommend Corey Shafer’s material on YouTube.

Edit: I just noticed that The Modern Python 3 Bootcamp is priced at a pretty steep price. Udemy often will sell their courses with a big discount every now and then. I paid just around 10 euro for the course.

2 Likes

If you like Python you may also like Sikulix which supports Python/Jython. Programming affine testers can use it in a more professional way like with PyCharm.
By the way, I’m no sikuli representative, but I’m happy to use it.

1 Like