Looking for an Automation Mentor

Hello,

I joined this forum in the hopes of finding a mentor for web based automation using Selenium and Java. I’m a QA engineer, and have recently moved into Automation but I just find myself struggling with the teaching style within my company. I love my boss and coworkers though so I don’t want to leave just to learn, and I have not had good success with online courses.

Little about me, since QAs prefer bullet points to the flowery type of Product lol:

• I actually went to school for 3D design and Animation, but switched out
  • I was originally mentored under a Sr QA Engineer
  • I have been in QA since 2016
  • I do have previous coding experience, and can write in gherkin/generate glue code
  • I’m struggling most with combining all the knowledge together, giving context to the individual aspects of writing the scripts
  • We use Eclipse, and it seems difficult to find info online how to use it other than how to set it up

If anyone on this forum can help, or knows where I can find it I would be so grateful. I want to continue to grow and learn.

Thank you, have a nice day :blush:

5 Likes

Hello Tascha,

Welcome to MoT :meetup_ninja:

When I have started to learn about Selenium & Java in my initial days of testing I too have a set of internal recordings which are given to me. But I can say I learnt more from this Udemy Course by Rahul Shetty. The course even has ‘Core Java’ modules if you want to brush up knowledge/new to Java.

Resource: https://www.udemy.com/share/101Wfu/

All the best :raised_hands:t4: for your learning ahead! Would be waiting from rest of the MoT community if they have any free resources/mentoring opportunities to share here.

4 Likes

Hi!
Check this guy’s page and maybe connect with him on linkedin. com/in/ivanandcode/ (he is really experienced and he is a Test Automation Coach)