New Job Chat - tell us about your new role!

A few of us have gotten new jobs - join here and tell us about them!

3 Likes

Iā€™ve been at mine for a month. On the Quality team at OutSystems. My imposter syndrome / low self esteem has made it hard. I joined so I could learn about observability - but I donā€™t know enough yet - hopefully itā€™s gonna work out. The people are amazing!

9 Likes

I have been at my new job for almost 2 months now and LOVE it! I finally got to be a full time WFH right when the whole quarantine hit so this is just my new norm. I am a Quality Analyst at Webflow.

2 Likes

I think the same issues, especially low self-esteem, are holding me back from getting a new job, which I need desperately. Would love to hear some of your coping strategies.

1 Like

My company (finance and insurance) has different roles for ā€˜manualā€™ testers and ā€˜automationā€™ testers. Iā€™ve been there about 18 months and switched from manual to automation 3 months ago. Loving the new position.

1 Like

Hi Caroline, could you please tell us what are the tools you are using for automation?

Working on my new role now for about 9 months as a Principal Test Automation Engineer :slight_smile: Lots of new challenges!

@prado For our browser automation - Selenium. (tried to move this to a reply but it didnā€™t like that I didnā€™t change the post enough)

1 Like

I get 1:1 coaching in leadership skills from Selena Delesie. One tip she gave me - when Iā€™m feeling intimidated or like i donā€™t know anything - think about how I am at conferences? In a conference session where I donā€™t know anything, I ask questions!

3 Likes

Iā€™m just starting a new job tomorrow! Iā€™ve been contracting there for two months but tomorrow I start as a permie. Itā€™s a wee company called Sonocent which creates software to help people learn by assisting in note taking in lectures. Itā€™s pretty close to my heart, it has a big accessibility focus.